Local high school athletes make college commitments

A number of local high schoolers who will be playing NCAA sports next year took part in National Signing Day ceremonies Wednesday.

National Signing Day is traditionally the first Wednesday in February, and it marks the first day that student-athletes can sign their National Letter of Intent to play Division I or Division II sports. However students do not have to sign on National Signing Day, and not all colleges require a National Letter of Intent.

Here’s the list of students from Richmond Highway-area schools who signed or took part in signing day ceremonies on Wednesday. If we’ve missed anyone, please let us know and we’ll be sure to add:

Mount Vernon

  • Sam Renzi, a four-year starter at kicker for Mount Vernon, signed to play for Sacred Heart University. Renzi was a 1st team All-District, All-Region and All-State selection as a senior, and holds the Mount Vernon record for both field goals and extra points made
  • Kyle Clark, a wide receiver for the Majors’ Gunston District-winning football team, will play at Division II school Glenville State in Glenville, West Virginia. Clark was a 1st Team All-District and 2nd Team All-Region selection as a senior.
  • Derick Sarpong, a defensive back and wide receiver for the Majors, will play next year at Christopher Newport University, a Division III school in Newport News, Va.
  • Sammy Boateng, a 1st Team All-District and All-Region defensive back for Mount Vernon, will also play next year at Christopher Newport University.
  • Kara Kishter, a standout for the Majors’ field hockey program, will play at Transylvania University, a Division III school in Lexington, Kentucky.

West Potomac

  • Bradley Harden, a three-year varsity player for the Wolverines, signed to play for Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, a Division III school in Terre Haute, Indiana.


  • Chase Soper, a two-year starter at quarterback for the Hawks, will play next year for James Madison University. Soper led the Hawks to a Gunston District championship in 2018, earning Offensive Player of the Year honors.