Hayfield’s Peterson, West Po’s Houston lead All-Gunston boys hoops

Peterson shooting a jumper against Annandale
Hayfield senior Daniel Peterson (24) shoots over an Annandale defender earlier this season. (Thomas Kinder image)

Hayfield senior Daniel Peterson was selected as the Gunston District Player of the Year for the 2019-2020 season.

Peterson, a three-year starter for the Hawks, averaged a double-double this season. The 6-foot-7-inch forward finished the regular season with 15 points per game and 10.7 rebounds per game.

Peterson’s teammate Braylon Wheeler, a sophomore guard, also made the first team. Regular season champion West Potomac landed two players on the first team — senior guard Bradley Harden and senior forward Colby Dessaure.

Both Harden and Dessaure also made the all-defensive team, where they were joined by Wolverine senior Jack Fricka. Hayfield senior guard Michael Lee and Mount Vernon senior forward Nasir Barnes were also all-defensive team picks.

West Potomac coach David Houston III earned co-coach of the year honors along with Annandale’s Deidrich Gilreath. It’s the fourth consecutive COY honor for Houston, who won his 200th career game earlier this season.

Houston kept West Potomac among the region’s elite teams this season despite the graduation of three starters from last year’s Gunston District champions. Houston credited his players, particularly his seniors, for stepping up and ensuring that the program did not miss a beat.

“Our off-season was stellar, my seniors were my hardest workers and best players throughout our preseason,” Houston said. “My guys play super hard, play defense, listen and believe in my system. No matter what happens, we’ve had fun and have learned a lot from each other.”

Houston in huddle surrounded by West Potomac players during a game
West Potomac coach David Houston III, center, was named Gunston District Coach of the Year. (Jon Roetman image)

The full 2019-2020 All Gunston District Team:

Player of the Year: Daniel Peterson (Hayfield)
Defensive Player of the Year: Ricardo Ross (T.C. Williams)
Co-Coaches of the Year: David Houston III (West Potomac), Deidrich Gilreath (Annandale)

1st team

  • Bradley Harden (West Potomac)
  • Torrance Horton (T.C. Williams)
  • Colby Dessaure (West Potomac)
  • John Awoke (Annandale)
  • Braylon Wheeler (Hayfield)
  • Ryan Adams (Annandale)
  • Ricardo Ross (T.C. Williams)

2nd team

  • Jack Fricka (West Potomac)
  • Michael Henderson (T.C. Williams)
  • Adrien Hunter (West Potomac)
  • Ethan Payne (West Potomac)
  • Michael Lee (Hayfield)
  • Tekao Carpenter (T.C. Williams)
  • Daejhon White (Mount Vernon)
  • David King (Hayfield)

Honorable Mention

  • Jackson Mayo (West Potomac)
  • Michael Teal (T.C. Williams)
  • Joede Mebane (Annandale)
  • Maxwell Lanham (Annandale)
  • Amanuel Tucker (Annandale)

All Defensive

  • John Awoke (Annandale)
  • Michael Lee (Hayfield)
  • Bradley Harden (West Potomac)
  • Nasir Barnes (Mount Vernon)
  • Colby Dessaure (West Potomac)
  • Jack Fricka (West Potomac)