Hayfield’s Dunham, West Po’s Colligan get top honors in Gunston girls hoops

Dunham dribbling upcourt, with defenders on each side of her
Hayfield sophomore guard Kendall Dunham (Thomas Kinder image)

Hayfield sophomore Kendall Dunham was selected last week as the 2019-2020 Gunston District Player of the Year in girls basketball.

Dunham, a point guard who is in her second season as a starter, averaged 18 points per game for the Lady Hawks. Dunham, who average three steals per game, also made the All-Gunston defensive team.

Dunham was among eight underclassmen selected to the first-team All-Gunston squad, which did not have any seniors. Joining her on the first team were a host of players from Richmond Highway-area schools, including teammate and fellow sophomore Ayana Gilen, who also made the all-defensive squad.

West Potomac’s Caroline Eby and Danea Mackey were first-team All-Gunston and were all-defensive selections as well. Mount Vernon sophomore guard Isabela Lujan-Gonzales also made the first team, while teammate Jessica Nyamekye made the all-defensive squad.

West Potomac coach Brian Colligan was selected as coach of the year after leading the Wolverines to a regular season championship in the Gunston.

The full 2019-2020 All-Gunston girls basketball team:

1st Team

  • Kendall Dunham, sophomore (Hayfield)
  • Caroline Eby, junior (West Potomac)
  • Jane Elkins, sophomore (Annandale)
  • Ayana Gillen, sophomore (Hayfield)
  • Amor Harris, freshman (T.C. Williams)
  • N’jya Hopkins, sophomore (T.C. Williams)
  • Isabela Lujan-Gonzales, sophomore (Mount Vernon)
  • Danea Mackey, junior (West Potomac)

2nd Team

  • Danielle Allen, freshman (Hayfield)
  • Amani Gillen, junior (Hayfield)
  • Litzy Lujan-Gonzales, freshman (Mount Vernon)
  • Mary Prater, freshman (West Potomac)
  • Caroline Schie, senior (T.C. Williams)
  • Annie Terwilliger, senior (West Potomac)
  • Halle Walker, senior (T.C. Williams)
  • Meaghan Wendling, sophomore (T.C. Williams)

Honorable Mention

  • Scarlet Anderson, junior (Mount Vernon)
  • Haley Garrish, freshman (Annandale)
  • Patricia Sherrill, senior (Hayfield)
  • Samantha Uhrin, sophomore (West Potomac)

All Defense

  • N’jya Hopkins — Defensive Player of the Year (T.C. Williams)
  • Kendall Dunham (Hayfield)
  • Caroline Eby (West Potomac)
  • Ayana Gillen (Hayfield)
  • Danea Mackey (West Potomac)
  • Jessica Nyamekye (Mount Vernon)