Ten Richmond Highway area schools earn Purple Star designation

Entrance to Fort Hunt Elementary School with school's name in letters and 8832 for school's address
Fort Hunt Elementary was one of the 10 Richmond Highway area schools to receive the Purple Star designation.

Nine public schools and one private school in the Richmond Highway area have been designated Purple Star schools by the Virginia Department of Education.

The 10 schools are among 19 in Fairfax County that earned the designation, which is determined by the Virginia Department of Education and the Virginia Council on the Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunity for Military Children.

Purple Star logo

The Richmond Highway area schools to earn the Purple Star designation in 2019:

  • Browne Academy
  • Fort Hunt Elementary
  • Hayfield Elementary
  • Mount Vernon High
  • Riverside Elementary
  • Sandburg Middle
  • Stratford Landing Elementary
  • Walt Whitman Middle
  • Washington Mill Elementary
  • Woodley Hills Elementary

To be recognized for a Purple Star, schools must apply to the VDOE and meet certain qualifying criteria that demonstrates their commitment to students from military families. Purple Star schools must have a designated liaison between military families and the school. The school’s website must have a page dedicated to assisting students from military families, with information about moving to the school district, enrollment requirements, academic planning, leaving the school because of a change in duty station, and details about the Interstate Compact on Educational Opportunities for Military Children.

Full criteria for the award can be viewed here.

This is the second year that Virginia has selected Purple Star schools. Six Richmond Highway-area schools earned the designation last year: Clermont Elementary, Fort Belvoir Primary, Fort Belvoir Upper, Hayfield Secondary, St. Louis Catholic School and Waynewood Elementary.

The Purple Star designation is good for three years before schools need to reapply.

The other Fairfax County Public Schools to earn the Purple Star designation in 2019:

  • Fairhill Elementary
  • Franconia Elementary
  • Gunston Elementary
  • Key Center
  • Laurel Ridge Elementary
  • Mosby Woods Elementary
  • Orange Hunt Elementary
  • Saratoga Elementary
  • Woodson High