Hayfield, West Po and Mount Vernon players dominate All-Gunston District list

Brian Cobbs on sideline

Hayfield senior Brian Cobbs was the unanimous selection for the Gunston District Offensive Player of the Year.

Players from Richmond Highway-area schools were well-represented on the 2017 All-Gunston District football team, with stars from Hayfield and West Potomac getting tapped for offensive and defensive player of the year awards, respectively.  

There was little doubt about who the offensive player of the year would be. Hayfield senior Brian Cobbs did a little bit of everything for the Hawks this season, and did all of it exceptionally well.

Recruited to play wide receiver at the University of Maryland next year, Cobbs chipped in at running back and quarterback for Hayfield (8-2, 4-0) at various times. In the final three games of the season, as the Hawks wrapped up the Gunston District title and secured a berth in the regional playoffs, Cobbs started at quarterback and threw for 11 touchdowns while running for three more.

Cobbs finished the season with 30 touchdowns overall.

West Potomac senior linebacker Zach Monson was selected as defensive player of the year. One of the hardest hitters in the region, Monson was a punishing force for a West Potomac defense that faced one of the toughest schedules in the region.

Monson finished the season with 88 tackles, including seven tackles for losses and four sacks. He also forced three fumbles and recovered another. Monson was also a first-team all-district selection at tight end, finishing with 34 receptions for 496 yards and four touchdowns.

Among Monson’s biggest players were a critical fourth and goal stop during West Potomac’s season finale win against Mount Vernon, as well as another huge fourth and goal stop in the Wolverines early season win over Lake Braddock:

Hayfield’s Eric Henderson earned coach of the year honors for leading the Hawks to an unbeaten district record en route to a 8-2 finish. The Hawks will host a playoff game against Hylton this Friday.

The full list of honorees:

Position First Name Last Name School Team
C Ben Miles Hayfield 1U
C Andrew Asanza Annandale HM
C Elijah Rucker Mt Vernon HM
OL Javier Oliver Hayfield 1U
OL Oscar Martinez TCW 1U
OL Cesar Lopez Annandale 1
OL Bailey Iboleon West Po 1
OL John Holzworth West Po 2
OL Kevin Amoako West Po 2
OL Kevin Reyes Annandale 2
OL Matt Liechty Hayfield 2
OL Kofi Aboye Hayfield 2
OL Julian Schein TCW 2
OL Mike Hood Mt Vernon HM
TE Zack Monson West Po 1
TE Travis Williams Hayfield 2
TE Juwan Afinni TCW HM
TE Wilfredo Zelaya Annandale HM
WR Brian Cobbs Hayfield 1U
WR De Andre Webb West Po 1
WR Kai Cole TCW 1
WR Jaivon Pailin Hayfield 2
WR Rayjuan Pringle Hayfield 2
WR Jack Mccrossin Annandale 2
WR Darrien Newton Mt Vernon 2
WR Terrence Sakyi TCW 2
WR Ahmed Ibrahim Annandale HM
WR Tim Drummond Hayfield HM
WR Damien Burke Mt Vernon HM
WR Duran Etheredge West Po HM
QB Timmy Heltzel Mt Vernon 1
QB Tanner Jones West Po 2
QB Di’ondre Charlton TCW 2
RB Daiimon Cleveland West Po 1U
RB Tyler Rush Annandale 1U
RB Jordyn Reid Mt Vernon 1U
RB Kylan Booker Hayfield 2
PK Jose Velasquez TCW 1
PK Sam Renzi Mt Vernon 2
PK Joel Heyde West Po HM
KR Jaivon Pailin Hayfield 1U
KR Darrien Newton Mt Vernon 2
O All Purpose Player Darrien Newton Mt Vernon 1
O All Purpose Player Jack Mccrossin Annandale 2
O All Purpose Player Travis Williams Hayfield 2
O All Purpose Player Donovan Eason West Po HM
O Player of the Year Brian Cobbs Hayfield 1U
O Player of the Year Di’ondre Charlton TCW 2
DE Je’von Burgess TCW 1U
DE Jimmori Robinson Hayfield 1U
DE Aaron Busby Mt Vernon 2
DE Keyshawn Suber West Po 2
DE Patrick Lee Annandale HM
DL Stephen King Hayfield 1U
DL John Holzworth West Po 1U
DL Calvin Johnson TCW 1U
DL Cory Mcneil Hayfield 2
DL Sam Kirby West Po 2
DL Joe Gaston Annandale HM
DL Alin Muhammed Hayfield HM
DL Chris Gallman Mt Vernon HM
LB Zack Monson West Po 1U
LB Jack Shivers TCW 1U
LB Erick Mejia TCW 1U
LB Jason Lewis Mt Vernon 1
LB Kyle Addo Annandale 2
LB Tyler Brown Hayfield 2
LB George Tweneboa Hayfield 2
LB Ulises Barias West Po 2
LB Amhed Abdalla TCW 2
LB Joseph Menga Hayfield HM
LB Andrei Golding Mt Vernon HM
LB Joel Heyde West Po HM
DB Jayden Lenore Hayfield 1U
DB Myles Dowdy TCW 1U
DB Marquise Groomes West Po 1
DB Mike Blackwell TCW 1
DB Jack Mccrossin Annandale 2
DB Ryan Adams Annandale 2
DB Demonte Richardson Hayfield 2
DB Jonathan Young Hayfield 2
DB Kennedy Ntimoah Hayfield 2
DB Waddell Dailey West Po 2
DB Tavarius Brown TCW 2
DB Ahmed Ibrahim Annandale HM
DB Daniel Antwi West Po HM
P Scott Burns Mt Vernon 1U
P Daiimon Cleveland West Po 2
P Dominic Garcia Hayfield HM
PR Kai Cole TCW 1U
PR Darrien Newton Mt Vernon 2
D All Purpose Player Jack Mccrossin Annandale 1U
D Player of the Year Zack Monson West Po 1U
D Player of the Year Erick Mejia TCW 2
Coach of Year Eric Henderson Hayfield 1U


  1. Anonymous
    • wpadmin
    • Anonymous
      • wpadmin
  2. Anon