Hayfield’s Gaither, West Potomac’s Houston take top honors in region

David Houston III

West Potomac boys basketball coach David Houston III hold the net after the Wolverines’ victory over Woodson in the Patriot Conference championship.

Richmond Highway-area programs were well-represented in the 6A North Region boys basketball selections, which were announced Saturday. 

Hayfield senior guard Langston Gaither was named the 2016-2017 6A North Region Player of the Year, while West Potomac coach David Houston III was picked as Coach of the Year.

Langston Gaither

Langston Gaither averaged 24.6 points per game in the regular season. (Thomas Kinder photo)

Gaither averaged 23.8 points per game while leading the Hawks to the Liberty Conference regular season championship. Hayfield qualified for the region tournament and finished the season 20-6. Gaither was also picked as the Liberty Conference Player of the Year. 

Houston helped West Potomac (25-4) to one of its best seasons ever, and he’s the first boys basketball coach from the school to ever be named region COY. He led the Wolverines to both the regular season title and district tournament title, the first time West Po boys have accomplished that since the 1994-95 season. West Potomac finished third in the region, qualifying them for the state tournament, which begins Friday.

Houston, a history teacher at West Potomac, has coached at the school since the 2004-2005 season.

West Potomac senior point guard Khalil Williams was named to the 1st team all-region squad. It’s the second year in a row Williams has earned the honor. His backcourt partner, sophomore Daryl Mackey Jr., was named second team all-region. The duo have combined for an average of 35 points per game. 

Hayfield junior guard Brian Cobbs was an honorable mention all-region selection. 

The full team:

Coach of the Year: David Houston III (West Potomac)
Player of the Year: Langston Gaither (Hayfield)

First Team:
Johnny Corish (Madison)
Bryce Douglas (Centreville)
Jordan Gibson (Stonewall Jackson)
Dontae Johnson (Annandale)
Anthony Pearson (Osbourn)
Corey Pelham (Lake Braddock)
Khalil Williams (West Potomac)

Second Team:
Emmanuel Aghayere (South Lakes)
Jason Aigner (Woodson)
Daniel Carmichael (Chantilly)
Marcus Cherry (South Lakes)
Brayden Gault (Battlefield)
Michael Griffin (Herndon)
Daryl Mackey Jr. (West Potomac)
Shonari Street (Battlefield)

Honorable Mention:
Brian Cobbs (Hayfield)
Anthony Douglas (Robinson)
Marcus Mack (Centreville)
Drake Marshall (Patriot)
Ike Onwuka (Patriot)
Antonio Warner (Stonewall Jackson)


  1. Christine Beal
    • wpadmin
      • Nori
    • Anonymous
  2. Nori
    • wpadmin